Awards Committee

Awards Committee

Committee Charge

Objectives: This committee organizes and reviews the nominations for specific AAA awards and selects a recommended winner for each.

Duration of Committee: Permanent

Term of Office: 3-year terms

Committee Reports to: AAA Executive Board


  • to organize and review information regarding the nominations and recommend winners for the following AAA awards:
    • The Franz Boas Award for Exemplary Service to Anthropology;
    • The Anthropology in Media Award;
    • The Robert B. Textor and Family Prize for Excellence in Anticipatory Anthropology; and
    • The AAA/Oxford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
  • Coordinates with the SfAA for the Margaret Mead Award to ensure that winner is selected in a timely way.
  • Works with AAA liaison in notifying nominators of their requirement to write encomia for their nominee.  Encomia will be used for print publications (AN/Program) and used for awards ceremony.
  • Review any new proposals for new AAA association level awards. 
  • Committee members are encouraged to attend the Awards Ceremony at the AAA Annual Meetings where they will be recognized by the AAA President.
Membership and Appointment:
  • Five-member committee including the chair
  • Committee members are appointed by the president with one seat designated for a student
  • This committee is chaired by an appointed member of the Executive Board
  • The appointment of the new chair is made the year prior to the departure of the sitting chair. This is an ex-officio non-voting role.
Product: A written report to the Executive Board.

Meetings and Schedule: Committee meets in the spring by phone and e-mail.

Staff Liaison and contact information:
Kathy Ano, American Anthropological Association, 2300 Clarendon Blvd., Suite 1301, Arlington, VA 22201, Phone: (703) 528-1902, Fax: (703) 528-3546.

Committee Links