Prizes & Awards

AAA/Oxford University Press Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching of Anthropology

Is there an undergraduate anthropology professor that inspired your success? Honor your favorite anthropology teacher by nominating them for the AAA/Oxford University Press Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching of Anthropology. 

Established in 1997 to recognize outstanding anthropology teachers, this award is a prestigious, nomination-only, annual award for educators who have impacted the discipline through outstanding teaching and inspiration to their students. Successful teaching of anthropology is at the core of producing successful anthropologists. Without dedicated anthropology educators, the growth of the discipline would be stifled. Take a moment to recognize the outstanding professor that contributed to your success by nominating your favorite anthropology teacher today.  

The Award-winning educator will receive a $1,000 stipend for travel to and lodging at the AAA Annual Meeting, a crystal apple and recognition from the Association and fellow colleagues.

AAA/Oxford Teaching Award Nominate Your Professor

Guidelines for the Preparation and Submission of AAA Award Nomination Materials

  • Letter of Recommendation: The letter should provide a summary of the nominee's accomplishments, and it should demonstrate (not merely assert) the nominee's qualifications. The letter should explain the significance of the nominee's work and how it fits within the discipline. Explain how the nominee's work has impacted their students, the field, other disciplines and the general public. And incorporate how the nominee's work demonstrates going above and beyond the general scope of teaching in terms of creativity and influence.

Supporting Materials: The packet should include supporting materials, which should not be expected to stand on their own. We encourage the inclusion of statements by former students or others that have benefited from the educational mentoring of the nominee. In other words, these materials should support the case being made in the nomination letter, demonstrating its assertions.

The nomination packet should not exceed 25 pages. Please note that nominees are considered for three years. Those not chosen in the first year will be considered for two more years. If desired, nomination packets can be updated by March 1 each year, or nominations can be withdrawn from consideration

Electronic submissions to are encouraged or submit 6 copies of the materials to:
AAA Awards Committee
American Anthropological Association
2300 Clarendon Blvd, Suite 1301, Arlington, VA 22201
Fax: 703/528-3546

Note deadline for nominations 1 March each year.

Questions? Contact Kathy Ano by telephone 703/528-1902 ext 1161 or via e-mail (

Note: This award was previously called the AAA Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching of Anthropology and the AAA/Mayfield Award.

2014 Awardee
Jan Newberry
Previous Awardees
2013 Triloki Pandey
2012 Peter J. Brown
2011 Bonnie Pitblado
2010 Andrew Lass & Harald E. L. Prins
2009 Maria Vesperi
2008 Paula Clarke
2007 Elizabeth Chin and Kent G. Lightfoot
2006 George J. Bey III
2005 Richard H. Robbins and Scott A. Lukas
2004 Mathew Richard
2003 Russell H Tuttle
2002 Randall McGuire
2001 Alessandro Duranti
2000 Patricia Urban
1999 Conrad Kottak and Jonathan Marks
1998 Frances Mascia-Lees and Patricia Rice
1997 David McCurdy and Barbara Joans